Al Kooper

Al Kooper (born Feb. 5, 1944) is an American musician, producer, and composer from Brooklyn who emerged during the blues-rock boom of the 1960s. His first major band was the Blues Project, which issued the seminal 1966 album Projections. He and bandmate Steve Katz then formed the jazz-rock big band Blood Sweat & Tears. Their 1968 album Child Is Father to the Man signaled the emergence of stateside brass-rock-soul (Chicago, Sons of Champlin, Ten Wheel Drive). That same year, he teamed with Electric Flag co-founder Mike Bloomfield for Supper Session, a collection of blue jams with singer/guitarist Stephen Stills.

Kooper launched his solo career with the 1968 Columbia release I Stand Alone and issued eight further albums on the label up through 1982. His 1970 Kooper Session introduced the talents of Shuggie Otis. As a producer, he worked on 1969–83 albums by Appaloosa, Sweet Linda Divine, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Tubes, and Phil Judd.

Al Kooper was born in Brooklyn, NY, on February 5, 1944.


  • I Stand Alone (1968)
  • Super Session (1968 • Mike Bloomfield / Al Kooper / Steve Stills)
  • You Never Know Who Your Friends Are (1969)
  • The Live Adventures of Mike Bloomfield and Al Kooper (1969 • Mike Bloomfield & Al Kooper )
  • Easy Does It (1970)
  • Kooper Session (1970 • Al Kooper & Shuggie Otis)
  • The Landlord (OST, 1970)
  • New York City (You’re a Woman) (1971)
  • Naked Songs (1972)
  • A Possible Projection of the Future / Childhood’s End (1972)
  • Act Like Nothing’s Wrong (1976)
  • Championship Wrestling (1982)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *