Ace Spectrum

Ace Spectrum was an American soul group from N.Y.C. that released three albums on Atlantic between 1974 and 1976.

Members: Henry “Red” Zant [aka Edward “Easy” Zant] (vocals), Aubrey “Troy” Johnson (vocals), Elliot Isaac (vocals), Rudy Gay (vocals), Frederick G. Duff (vocals), Lawrence “Dee” Coley (vocals)

Ace Spectrum was formed in 1966 by singers Rudy Gay Sr., Elliot Isaac, Henry “Easy” Zant, and Aubrey “Troy” Johnson. Zant also served as their manager. After years on the NYC soul circuit, they signed to Atlantic Records.

Their debut album, Inner Spectrum, appeared in October 1974. It features eight songs, including “Easy,” Johnson’s “Me and My Love,” and two Zant/Johnson numbers: “Pickup” and “I Don’t Want to Play Around,” which rides out side two with a lengthy, fast-paced instrumental coda. The album opens with the Ashford and Simpson composition “Don’t Send Nobody Else,” followed by the James Taylor cover “Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight,” paired respectively as the a- and b-sides of their debut single (Pop #57). The b-side was also issued as an a-side (b/w “Pickup”).

Inner Spectrum was produced by Main Ingredient mainstay Tony Silvester, who also handled mid-’70s titles by Bloodstone, Linda Lewis, Sam Dees, Les McCann, Manu Dibango, Frannie Golde, Marlena Shaw, and Sister Sledge. The cover was illustrated by designer Peter Palombi, whose vivid style is also seen on contemporary albums by Eddie Harris, Four Tops, The Meters, Commodores, Puzzle, Paul Kelly, First Choice, Blue Magic, Hall and Oates (War Babies), and Michel Polnareff (Michel Polnareff).


  • Inner Spectrum (1974)
  • Low Rent Rendezvous (1975)
  • Just Like in the Movies (1976)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *