7th Wonder

The 7th Wonder were an American soul-funk band from Tuskegee, Ala., that released two albums on Parachute Records in 1978/79, followed by a third on Chocolate City in 1980.

Members: Jerome “Thump” Thornton (bass), Johnnie Hammond (drums, percussion), Marvin Patton (guitar, vocals), Iulus Chislom (keyboards), Allen Williams (percussion, vocals), Wilbert Cox (vocals), Deborah Mathews (vocals)

The band originally recorded as Seventh Wonder, issuing two singles on Abet in 1973/74: the two-parter “For the Good Times” (a Kris Kristofferson composition) and “Ain’t Nothing Gonna Break Us Up” (b/w “Let’s Stop Kidding Ourselves“). The first of those was included on two mid-’70s multi-artist compilations issued by Contempo. The band’s third single, “Captain of Your Ship” (not the Reparata and the Delrons song), was issued on small-press W.G. in 1976 with “Pharoah” on the flipside.

As 7th Wonder, the band released Words Don’t Say Enough in 1978 on Parachute Records. It was produced by Jerry Weaver, who co-wrote seven of the eight songs. It generated three singles: “My Love Ain’t Never Been This Strong,” “Words Don’t Say Enough,” and “People In Love Do The Strangest Things” (titled “People In Love” on the album).

In 1979, 7th Wonder issued its second Parachute album, Climbing Higher. It features eight songs, including “Young Girl,” “Something Inside You Feel,” “Something Beautiful,” and the title-track. It was co-produce by Weaver and ex-Commodores bassist Ronald LaPread. The songs “Daisy Lady, “Do It With Your Body,” and “Living My Life Just For You” were released as singles.

The third and final 7th Wonder album, Thunder, appeared in 1980 on Casablanca-subsidiary Chocolate City. Weaver produced six of the eight tracks, two with direct input from the band. The album’s first single, “The Tilt,” was produced by Leon Sylvers III. The other singles were “I Enjoy Ya” (#33 R&B) and “Stop Before You Break My Heart” (produced by Lakeside). LA. Connection ‎served as the horn section on this recording.

Weaver later co-produced the debut album by Janet Jackson.


  • Words Don’t Say Enough (1978)
  • Climbing Higher (1979)
  • Thunder (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *