Visage ‎– Visage (1980)

Visage is the debut album by the namesake New Wave supergroup comprised of Ultravox and Magazine personnel and fronted by Blitz Club impresario Steve Strange. Forwarded by the singles “Tar” and the Euro smash “Fade to Grey,” the album was released in November 1980 on Polydor. Computer programming is done by ex-Easy Street drummer and Landscape main-man Richard James Burgess — coiner of the music/fashion nomenclature New Romantic (NuRo)  — who would notch further soundboard credits as the sonic-architect behind fellow NuRo champs Spandau Ballet.

A1. “Visage” (3:50)
A2. “Blocks on Blocks” (4:02)
A3. “The Dancer” (3:37)
A4. “Tar” (3:31)
A5. “Fade to Grey” (3:58)
B1. “Malpaso Man” (4:05)
B2. “Mind of a Toy” (4:35)
B3. “Moon Over Moscow” (3:59)
B4. “Visa-age” (4:17)
B5. “The Steps” (3:10)

Steve Strange — lead vocals
Dave Formula — synthesizer
Rusty Egan — drums, electronic percussion, backing vocals
Billy Currie — electric violin, synthesizer
Midge Ure — guitar, producer, synthesizer, backing vocals
John McGeoch — guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
Barry Adamson — bass

Visage — producer
Richard James Burgess — programming
John Hudson — recorder, mixing, engineer
Chris Payne — synthesizer
Cedric Shapley — drums, electronic drums, programming
Brigitte Arens — vocals

Artist/Album Pages:

Barbara Dickson ‎– The Barbara Dickson Album (1980)
The Barbara Dickson Album is the sixth solo album by Scottish folk/pop singer Barbara Dickson, produ...
Magazine ‎– Secondhand Daylight (1979)
Secondhand Daylight is the sophomore album by Mancunian maximalist rockers Magazine, released in 197...
Fred Frith ‎– Gravity (1980)
Gravity is the first proper solo album by English avant-garde guitarist/composer Fred Frith, release...
Present ‎– Triskaidékaphobie (1980)
Triskaidékaphobie is the debut album by Belgian chamber-rock/Zeuhl combo Present, released in 1980 o...
The Jacksons ‎– Triumph (1980)
Triumph is an album by American brotherly soul act The Jacksons, released in 1980 on Epic. The album...
Hazel O'Connor ‎– Sons and Lovers (1980)
Sons and Lovers is the second album by English New Wave vocalist/performance artist Hazel O'Connor, ...
The Cure – Seventeen Seconds (1980)
Seventeen Seconds is the second album by English New Wave/mood rockers The Cure, released in 1980 on...
Yukihiro Takahashi ‎– Murdered by the Music (1980)
Murdered by the Music is the second solo by Japanese musician Yukihiro Takahashi, released in 1980 o...
Reverie ‎– Reverie (1980)
Reverie is an album by the namesake Midwest post-bop quartet, released in 1980 on Encounter. ...
Random Hold ‎– Etceteraville (1980)
Etceteraville is a U.S.-only album by English New Wave/art-rockers Random Hold, produced by Peter Ha...
Genesis ‎– Duke (1980)
Duke is the tenth studio album by English symphonic-rock trio Genesis, released in 1980 on Charisma/...
Zamla Mammaz Manna ‎– Familjesprickor = Family Cracks (1980)
Familjesprickor is the sixth album by Swedish avant-garde/instrumental rock ensemble Zamla Mammaz Ma...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *