The Tarney/Spencer Band ‎– Run for Your Life (1979)

Run for Your Life is the third album by the Tarney/Spencer Band, produced by David Kershenbaum and released in 1979 on A&M. The album features two of the duo’s most popular songs — the Firefall-esque cult classic “No Time to Lose” and the power ballad “A Heart Will Break Tonight,” which Cliff Richard rendered on the following year’s Tarney-produced I’m No Hero LP.

The label heard hit-potential in album-opener “No Time to Lose” and twice issued the song as a single to no avail, though the track has since become a playlist favorite in select markets. In 1999, the then-out-of-print song was shifted into rotation on KGON, which airs classic rock on 92.3 FM in Portland, Ore. The station’s programmers also included the song on a locally issued mixed-artists CD. These moves stirred local demand for a reissue of the parent album. Run for Your Life was ultimately reissued in 2008 on Swedish label Tone Arm.

A1. “No Time to Lose” (4:43)
A2. “The Race is Almost Run” (2:51)
A3. “Won’tcha Tell Me” (3:46)
A4. “Live Again” (4:05)
A5. “Run for Your Life” (4:36)
B1. “Don’t” (4:18)
B2. “Far Better Man” (3:18)
B3. “Lies” (3:06)
B4. “A Heart Will Break Tonight” (3:44)
B5. “I’m Alive” (3:53)

Drums – Trevor Spencer
Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Vocals – Alan Tarney
Producer – David Kershenbaum

Artist/Album Pages:

The Planets ‎– Goon Hilly Down (1979)
Goon Hilly Down is the first of two albums by Liverpudlian New Wave combo The Planets, released in 1...
Anthony Phillips ‎– Sides (1979)
Sides is the third proper solo album by English guitarist/composer Anthony Phillips, released in 197...
Albert Marcœur ‎– Armes & Cycles (1979)
Armes & Cycles is the third album by French avant-pop/proto-zolo musician Albert Marcœur, releas...
Ambiance ‎– Ebun (1979)
Ebun is the debut album by American spiritual-jazz/funk combo Ambiance, released in 1979 on Da Mon. ...
Simple Minds ‎– Reel to Real Cacophony (1979)
Reel to Real Cacophony is the second album by Scottish New Wave band Simple Minds, released in Novem...
Flash and the Pan ‎– Flash and the Pan (1979)
Flash and the Pan is the debut album by the namesake Australian studio project headed by the songwri...
Madness ‎– One Step Beyond... (1979)
One Step Beyond... is the debut album by English two-tone/ska sextet Madness, released in October 19...
Hermeto Pascoal ‎– Zabumbê-bum-á (1979)
Zabumbê-bum-á is the fourth studio album by Brazilian avant-garde jazz musician/composer Hermeto Pas...
Supertramp - Brother Where You Bound (1985)
Brother Where You Bound is the eighth studio album by English rockers Supertramp, released in 1985 o...
The Shirts ‎– Street Light Shine (1979)
Street Light Shine is the second album by NYC New Wave/art-rock band The Shirts, released in 1979 on...
SFF ‎– Ticket to Everywhere (1979)
Ticket to Everywhere is the third and final album by German symphonic-rock trio Schicke, Führs and F...
Sukellusvene ‎– Vesi- ja Lintumusiikkia (1979)
Vesi- ja Lintumusiikkia is an album by Finnish jazz-rock sextet Sukellusvene, released in 1979 on Lo...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *