The Mysterious Flying Orchestra ‎– The Mysterious Flying Orchestra (1977)

The Mysterious Flying Orchestra is a jazz-funk album by the namesake studio ensemble headed by producer Bob Thiele with a host of notable players, including Charlie Mariano, Larry Coryell, Lonnie Liston Smith, and Steve Marcus. The album was released in 1977 on RCA.

A1. “Improvisational Rondo for Saxophone and Guitar” (7:06)
A2. “Shadows” (7:04)
A3. “A Dream Deferred” (5:24)
B1. “Summer Days” (5:20)
B2. “There Once Was a Man Named John” (5:24)
B3. “Nice ‘n’ Spicy” (6:31)

Bob Thiele — music director, producer, mixing, percussion
Harvey Goldberg — recording engineer, mixing engineer
Nat Hentoff — liner notes
Teresa Brewer — vocals
Charlie Mariano — soprano saxophone
Steve Marcus — soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
Bob Mintzer — tenor saxophone
Eddie Daniels — flute, tenor saxophone
Donald Smith — flute
Phil Bodner — tenor saxophone, English horn
Babe Clarke — baritone saxophone
Tony Studd — trombone
Jon Faddis — trumpet, flugelhorn
Lew Soloff — trumpet, flugelhorn
Victor Paz — flugelhorn
Burt Collins — flugelhorn
Larry Coryell — electric guitar
Jerry Friedman — electric guitar
Richard Resnicoff — electric guitar
Gene Bertoncini — acoustic guitar
Don Grolnick — electric piano
Lonnie Liston Smith — electric piano
Pat Rebillot — electric piano
Leroy Leon Pendarvis — Clavinet
Wilbur Bascomb — electric bass
Lawrence Killian — percussion, congas
Guilherme Franco — percussion
George Devens — vibraphone, percussion
Wilby Fletcher — drums
Charles Collins — drums
Andy Newmark — drums
Gloria Agostini — harp
Gene Orloff — violin
Sanford Allen — violin
Noel DaCosta — violin
Julien Barber — violin
Max Ellen — violin
Selwart Clarke — violin
Joseph Malignaggi — violin
Harry Lookofsky — violin
Doreen Callender — violin
Lee Kahn — violin
Max Kahn — violin
Emanuel Green — violin
Sylvan Shulman — violin
Julie Held — violin
Alfred Brown — viola
Alan Shulman — viola
Jesse Levy — viola
Kermit Moore — cello
Ronald DeVaughn — cello
Michael Spivakovsky — cello
Col Fleisig — cello
Horace Ott — arranger
Glenn Osser — arranger

Artist/Album Pages:

Karma - For Everybody (1977)
For Everybody is the second of two albums by American jazz-funk ensemble Karma, released in 1977 on ...
Atoll – Tertio (1977)
Tertio is the third album by French space-symph act Atoll, released in 1977 on Eurodisc. Trac...
Eric Tagg - Rendez-Vous (1977)
Rendez-Vous is the second album by American pop/blue-eyed soul vocalist Eric Tagg, originally releas...
Harry Miller's Isipingo ‎– Family Affair (1977)
Family Affair is an album by Isipingo, the English/South African jazz sextet led by bassist Harry Mi...
Gino Vannelli ‎– A Pauper in Paradise (1977)
A Pauper in Paradise is the fifth album by Canadian symphonic/soul artist Gino Vannelli, released in...
The 360 Degree Music Experience – In: Sanity (1977)
In: Sanity is a 1977 album by American avant-garde jazz collective The 360 Degree Music Experience. ...
Jasper Van't Hof's Pork Pie ‎– The Door Is Open (1976)
The Door Is Open is the second album by Pork Pie, the multinational jazz-rock collective led by Dutc...
Electric Light Orchestra ‎– Out of the Blue (1977)
Out of the Blue is the seventh album by English symphonic/art-pop band ELO, originally released as a...
Gary Wright ‎– The Light of Smiles (1977)
The Light of Smiles is the fourth solo album by American keyboardist/songwriter Gary Wright, release...
Lucio Dalla ‎– Come E' Profondo Il Mare (1977)
Come E' Profondo Il Mare is the seventh album by Italian singer/songwriter Lucio Dalla, released in ...
Gryphon ‎– Treason (1977)
Treason is the fifth and final album by English symphonic/folk-rock ensemble Gryphon, released in 19...
Max Webster - High Class in Borrowed Shoes (1977)
High Class in Borrowed Shoes is the second album by Canadian hard-rock/art-rock band Max Webster, re...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *