The Mothers of Invention ‎– Uncle Meat (1969)

Uncle Meat is a 1969 double-album by Frank Zappa and the The Mothers of Invention. The album — his sixth overall and fifth under the “Mothers” nameplate — is his first release to appear on Bizarre Records, which the artist established as a signature imprint under Warner/Reprise.

A 1. “Uncle Meat: Main Title Theme” 1:54
A2. “The Voice of Cheese” 0:27
A3. “Nine Types of Industrial Pollution” (Listed as “400 Days of the Year” on the label of the original vinyl release) 5:56
A4. “Zolar Czakl” 0:57
A5. “Dog Breath, in the Year of the Plague” 5:51
A6. “The Legend of the Golden Arches” 1:24
A7. “Louie Louie” (At the Royal Albert Hall in London) 2:28
A8. “The Dog Breath Variations” 1:36
B1. “Sleeping in a Jar” 0:49
B2. “Our Bizarre Relationship” 1:05
B3. “The Uncle Meat Variations” 4:40
B4. “Electric Aunt Jemima” 1:53
B5. “Prelude to King Kong” 3:24
B6. “God Bless America” (Live at the Whisky a Go Go) 1:22
B7. “A Pound for a Brown on the Bus” 1:29
B8. “Ian Underwood Whips It Out” 5:08
C1. “Mr. Green Genes” 3:10
C2. “We Can Shoot You” 1:48
C3. “‘If We’d All Been Living in California…'” 1:29
C4. “The Air” 2:57
C5. “Project X” 4:47
C6. “Cruising for Burgers” 2:19
D1. “King Kong (As Played By The Mothers In A Studio)” 0:53
D2. “King Kong (Its Magnificence As Interpreted By Dom DeWild)” 1:15
D3. “King Kong (As Motorhead Explains It)” 1:44
D4. “King Kong (The Gardner Varieties)” 6:17
D5. “King Kong (As Played By 3 Deranged Good Humor Trucks)” 0:29
D6. “King Kong (Live on a flat Bed Diesel in the Middle of a Race Track at a Miami Pop Festival…The Underwood Ramifications)” 7:22

Frank Zappa – guitar, low grade vocals, percussion, producer
Ray Collins – swell vocals
Jimmy Carl Black – drums, droll humor, poverty
Roy Estrada – electric bass, cheeseburgers, Pachuco falsetto
Don (Dom De Wild) Preston – electric piano, tarot cards, brown rice
Billy (The Oozer) Mundi – drums on some pieces before he quit to join RHINOCEROS
Bunk (Sweetpants) Gardner – piccolo, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano sax, alto sax, tenor sax, bassoon (all of these electric and/or no-electric depending)
Ian Underwood – electronic organ, piano, harpsichord, celeste, flute, clarinet, alto sax, baritone sax, special assistant, copyist, industrial relations & teen appeal
Artie (With the Green Mustache) Tripp – drums, timpani, vibes, marimba, xylophone, wood blocks, bells, small chimes, cheerful outlook & specific inquiries
Euclid James (Motorhead/Motorishi) Sherwood – pop star, frenetic tenor sax stylings, tambourine, choreography, obstinance & equipment setter-upper when he’s not hustling local groupies
Ruth Komanoff – who plays marimba and vibes with Artie on many of the tracks, and
Nelcy Walker – the soprano voice with Ray & Roy on “Dog Breath” & “The Uncle Meat Variations”.
Pamela Zarubica as Suzy Creamcheese

Artist/Album Pages:

Renaissance ‎– Renaissance (1969)
Renaissance is the debut album by the English symphonic-folk quintet of the same name, released in 1...
Ashton, Gardner & Dyke ‎– Ashton Gardner and Dyke (1969)
Ashton Gardner and Dyke is the debut album by the namesake English organ-rock trio, released in 1969...
Sons of Champlin – Loosen Up Naturally (1969)
Loosen Up Naturally is the debut album by Bay Area R&B/jam-rock band the Sons of Champlin, origi...
Locomotive ‎– We Are Everything You See (1969)
We Are Everything You See is an album by Brummie brass-rock ensemble Locomotive, released in 1969 on...
Manfred Schoof ‎– European Echoes (1969)
European Echoes is an album by German free-jazz trumpeter Manfred Schoof, released in 1969 on FMP. ...
Methuselah – Matthew, Mark, Luke and John (1969)
Matthew, Mark, Luke and John is an album by English folk/pop five-piece Methuselah, released in 1969...
Yes – Yes (1969)
Yes is the debut album by the English psychedelic-rock band of the same name, released in 1969 on At...
Xhol Caravan – Electrip (1969)
Electrip is the debut album by German experimental jazz-rock collective Xhol Caravan, released in 19...
Pharoah Sanders ‎– Karma (1969)
Karma is the third headlining album by American spiritual jazz saxist Pharoah Sanders, released in 1...
Inner Dialogue ‎– Inner Dialogue (1969)
Inner Dialogue is an album by the namesake American orchestral-pop/vocal combo, released in 1969 on ...
Jethro Tull ‎– Stand Up (1969)
Stand Up is the second album by English blues/folk-rock band Jethro Tull, released in 1969 on Chrysa...
Frank Zappa
Frank Zappa (December 21, 1940 — December 4, 1993) was an American musician, composer, producer, ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *