Pink Floyd – The Wall (1979)

The Wall is the eleventh studio album by Pink Floyd, released on November 30, 1979, on Harvest (UK) and Columbia (US).

The Wall is the fourth consecutive concept album by Pink Floyd, preceded by The Dark Side of the Moon (1973), Wish You Were Here (1975), and Animals (1977). It’s also their second double album after the 1969 release Ummagumma.

A1. “In the Flesh?” (3:19)
A2. “The Thin Ice” (2:29)
A3. “Another Brick in the Wall Part 1” (3:10)
A4. “The Happiest Days of Our Lives” (1:50)
A5. “Another Brick in the Wall Part 2” (3:59)
A6. “Mother” (5:35)
B1. “Goodbye Blue Sky” (2:46)
B2. “Empty Spaces” (2:09)
B3. “Young Lust” (3:30)
B4. “One of My Turns” (3:35)
B5. “Don’t Leave Me Now” (4:16)
B6. “Another Brick in the Wall Part 3” (1:14)
B7. “Goodbye Cruel World” (1:14)
C1. “Hey You” (4:41)
C2. “Is There Anybody Out There?” (2:40)
C3. “Nobody Home” (3:24)
C4. “Vera” (1:33)
C5. “Bring the Boys Back Home” (1:26)
C6. “Comfortably Numb” (6:25)
D1. “The Show Must Go On” (1:36)
D2. “In the Flesh” (4:16)
D3. “Run Like Hell” (4:24)
D4. “Waiting for the Worms” (3:57)
D5. “Stop” (0:30)
D6. “The Trial” (5:19)
D7. “Outside the Wall” (1:43)

Band members:

  • Roger Waters – vocals, bass guitar, synthesizer, acoustic guitar (A6, C4), electric guitar (B6), sleeve design, co-production
  • David Gilmour – vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, synthesizer, clavinet, percussion, co-production
  • Nick Mason – drums, percussion
  • Richard Wright – acoustic and electric pianos, Hammond organ, synthesizer, clavinet, bass pedals

Additional musicians:

  • Bruce Johnston – backing vocals
  • Toni Tennille – backing vocals (A1, D1, D2, D4)
  • Joe Chemay – backing vocals
  • Jon Joyce – backing vocals
  • Stan Farber – backing vocals
  • Jim Haas – backing vocals
  • Bob Ezrin – production, piano, Hammond organ, synthesizer, reed organ, orchestral arrangement, music (D6), backing vocals
  • James Guthrie – percussion, synthesizer, sound effects, co-producer, engineer
  • Jeff Porcaro – drums (A6)
  • Children of Islington Green School – vocals (A5)
  • Joe Porcaro – snare drums (C5)
  • Lee Ritenour – rhythm guitar (B4), additional acoustic guitar (C6)
  • Joe (Ron) di Blasi – classical guitar (C2)
  • Fred Mandel – Hammond organ (A1, D2)
  • Bobbye Hall – congas and bongos (D3)
  • Frank Marocco – concertina (D7)
  • Larry Williams – clarinet (D7)
  • Trevor Veitch – mandolin (D7)
  • New York Orchestra – orchestra
  • New York Opera – choral vocals
  • Vicki Brown and Clare Torry (aka Vicki & Clare) – backing vocals (D6)
  • Harry Waters – child’s voice (B7)
  • Chris Fitzmorris – male telephone voice
  • Trudy Young – voice of the groupie
  • Phil Taylor – sound effects

Production and packaging:

  • Michael Kamen – orchestral arrangement
  • Nick Griffiths – engineer
  • Patrice Quef – engineer
  • Brian Christian – engineer
  • Rick Hart – engineer
  • Doug Sax – mastering at The Mastering Lab
  • John McClure – engineer
  • Phil Taylor – sound equipment
  • Gerald Scarfe – sleeve design

Artist/Album Pages:

Pink Floyd
Pink Floyd was an English rock band that released twelve studio albums and two soundtracks between 1...
Lubomyr Melnyk ‎– Lubomyr Melnyk Performs KMH (1979)
Lubomyr Melnyk Performs KMH is an album by German avant-garde classical composer Lubomyr Melnyk, rel...
Honeyelk ‎– Stoyz Vi Dozévéloy (1979)
Stoyz Vi Dozévéloy is an album by French Zeuhl ensemble Honeyelk, released in 1979 on Oxygène. ...
Heldon ‎– Stand By (1979)
Stand By is the seventh album by French avant-garde/electronic band Heldon, released in 1979 on Egg....
Zartong ‎– Zartong (1979)
Zartong is the lone album by Paris-based Armenian folk/psych band Zartong, released in 1979 on Dom. ...
Patrice Rushen - Pizzazz (1979)
Pizzazz is the fifth solo album by American jazz-funk/soul artist Patrice Rushen, released in 1979 o...
Japan ‎– Quiet Life (1979)
Quiet Life is the third album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in December 1979 on ...
Desert – Desert (1979)
Desert is an Italian electronic/library music album from the namesake project of A. Vuolo and E. Gra...
Chrisma ‎– Hibernation (1979)
Hibernation is the second album by Italian synth-punk duo Chrisma, released in 1979 on Polydor.  ...
Earthstar ‎– French Skyline (1979)
French Skyline is an album by American electronic combo Earthstar, produced by Klaus Schulze and rel...
Fischer-Z ‎– Word Salad (1979)
Word Salad is the debut album by English modernist New Wave band Fischer-Z, released in 1979 on Unit...
Duncan Browne ‎– Streets of Fire (1979)
Streets of Fire is the fourth solo album by English musician/vocalist Duncan Browne, released in 197...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *