Michael Mantler ‎– The Hapless Child (and Other Inscrutable Stories) (1976)

The Hapless Child (and Other Inscrutable Stories) is the third album by Austrian composer/arranger Michael Mantler, released in 1976 on ECM-subsidiary Watt.


A1. “The Sinking Spell” (5:12)
A2. “The Object-Lesson” (4:58)
A3. “The Insect God” (5:00)
B1. “The Doubtful Guest” (4:45)
B2. “The Remembered Visit” (6:25)
B3. “The Hapless Child” (6:59)

Michael Mantler — composer, engineer
Edward Gorey — lyricist, cover art, drawings
Robert Wyatt — vocals
Carla Bley — piano, Clavinet, ARP Solina string synthesizer, producer
Steve Swallow — bass guitar
Jack DeJohnette — drums, percussion
Terje Rypdal — guitar
Alfreda Benge — speaker
Albert Caulder — speaker
Nick Mason — speaker, engineer, mixing

Alan Perkins — engineer
Dennis Weinreich — engineer, mixing

Artist/Album Pages:

UPP ‎– This Way (1976)
This Way is the second album by English soul/funk operative UPP, released in 1976 on Epic. T...
Jean Michel Jarre ‎– Oxygène (1976)
Oxygène is the debut album by French electronic musician Jean Michel Jarre, released in 1976 on Poly...
Van Der Graaf Generator ‎– Still Life (1976)
Still Life is the sixth album by English symphonic/hard rock band Van der Graaf Generator, released ...
The Main Ingredient ‎– Music Maximus (1976)
Music Maximus is the ninth album by American soul-funk trio the Main Ingredient, released in 1976. ...
Av'nir ‎– Déclic (1976)
Déclic is the second album by Quebecois rock band Av'nir, released in 1976 on Trans-World. Tr...
Agorà ‎– Agorà 2 (1976)
Agorà 2 is the second album by Italian jazz-rock band Agorà, released in 1976 on Atlantic. Tr...
Deaf School ‎– 2nd Honeymoon (1976)
2nd Honeymoon is the debut album by Liverpudlian cabaret/art-rock nine-piece Deaf School, released i...
Pleasure ‎– Accept No Substitutes (1976)
Accept No Substitutes is the second album by American funk band Pleasure, produced by Wayne Henderso...
Steve Marcus – Sometime Other Than Now (1976)
Sometime Other Than Now is a 1976 album by American saxophonist Steve Marcus. Fronting an ensemble t...
Pat Martino ‎– Joyous Lake (1976)
Joyous Lake is an album by American jazz guitarist Pat Martino, released in 1976 on Warner Bros. ...
News from Babel ‎– Letters Home (1986)
Letters Home is the second of two albums by avant-garde/art-rock supergroup News from Babel, release...
Nitzinger ‎– Live Better Electrically (1976)
Live Better Electrically is the third album by American hard-rock band Nitzinger, released in 1976 o...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *