McCoy Tyner ‎– Fly With the Wind (1976)

Fly With the Wind is an album by American jazz pianist McCoy Tyner, released in 1976 on Milestone. Augmenting his post-bop quartet for these sessions is a 14-piece orchestra conducted by arranger/co-producer William Fischer.

The title-track leads with a chamber into of violin, cello, oboe, and flute in Cm. During the first minute, the tone evolves from mournful to optimistic before harp strings usher an upbeat, string-laden ensemble passage. From here, the mood careens into sheer exhilaration, despite maintaining a tonal bedrock of Cm. The rhythm section of bassist Ron Carter and drummer Billy Cobham form a frontline assault with Tyner while strings weave the main theme around a four-chord sequence.

“Salvadore de Samba” is heralded by a crisp piano figure that darts across four tonics, starting in B. Rattling percussion beacons the full ensemblic breakout, replete with windy, cumulus strings befitting the album’s cover art. Two minutes in, Hubert Laws takes a flute solo amidst the high-speed flurry. Tyner wrestles the band to the ground with dazzling filigree during the 4:20–6:00 marks. Carter gets a 90-second spotlight at 8:20, anchored by Cobham’s rapidfire snare/tom rolls. The windy ride recapitulates at 10:00 before dissolving into harp-laden mist.

A1. “Fly With the Wind” (8:27)
A2. “Salvadore de Samba” (12:12)
B1. “Beyond the Sun” (5:31)
B2. “You Stepped Out of a Dream” (6:42)
B3. “Rolem” (5:42)

McCoy Tyner — piano, arranger, composer
Ron Carter — acoustic bass
Billy Cobham — drums
Hubert Laws — alto flute, flute
Paul Renzi — piccolo, flute
Raymond Dusté — oboe
Linda Wood — harp
Stuart Canin — violin
Peter Schafer — violin
Daniel Kobialko — violin
Edmund Weingart — violin
Frank Foster — violin
Selwart Clarke — viola
Kermit Moore — cello
Daniel Yale — viola
Sally Kell — cello
Mark Volkert — violin
Myra Bucky — violin
Guilherme Franco — tambourine

Orrin Keepnews — producer
William Fischer — conductor, associate producer

Artist/Album Pages:

Michael Farneti ‎– Good Morning Kisses (1976)
Good Morning Kisses is the only album by Floridian singer/songwriter Michael Farneti, self-released ...
Ambrosia – Somewhere I've Never Travelled (1976)
Somewhere I've Never Travelled is the second album by American symphonic/art-rock band Ambrosia, pro...
John Miles ‎– Rebel (1976)
Rebel is the debut album by English musician/songwriter John Miles, produced by Alan Parsons and rel...
Man - Welsh-Connection (1976)
Welsh-Connection is the eighth studio album by Welsh rockers Man. Released in 1976, the album would ...
The Mahavishnu Orchestra with John McLaughlin ‎– The Inner Mounting Flame (1971)
The Inner Mounting Flame is the debut album by multinational jazz-rock ensemble the Mahavishnu Orche...
Carpe Diem ‎– Cueille le Jour (1976)
Cueille le Jour is the second of two albums by French space-rock band Carpe Diem, released in 1976 o...
Zbigniew Seifert ‎– Man of the Light (1976)
Man of the Light is the debut solo album by Polish jazz-rock violinist Zbigniew Seifert, released in...
Elektriktus – Electronic Mind Waves (1976)
Electronic Mind Waves is an album by Italian musician/composer Andrea Centazzo, released under the m...
Freddie Hubbard ‎– Red Clay (1970)
Red Clay is an album by American jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released in June 1970 on CTI. ...
Rush - 2112 (1976)
2112 is the fourth studio album by Canadian rockers Rush, released in 1976 on Anthem Records. This i...
Hoelderlin ‎– Clowns & Clouds (1976)
Clowns & Clouds is the third album by German symphonic-rock band Hoelderlin, released in 1976 on...
Gato Barbieri ‎– Fenix (1971)
Fenix is the third album by Argentinean saxophonist Gato Barbieri, released in 1971 on Flying Dutchm...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *