Jeff Wayne ‎– Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of The Worlds (1978)

The War of The Worlds is a musical adaptation of the 1897 science fiction novel by H.G. Wells, conducted by Jeff Wayne with narration by actor Richard Burton. The album was released as a two-LP set in 1978 on CBS, complete with elaborate gatefold and sleeve illustrations depicting key elements of the storyline.

Select numbers feature the vocal talents of Chris Thompson, David Essex, Julie Covington, Justin Hayward, and Phil Lynott. The Hayward ballad “Forever Autumn” — recorded concurrently with the Moody frontman’s involvement in Mandalaband‘s similarly thematic/epic The Eye of Wendor: Prophecies — was a charting single in numerous territories.

The Coming of the Martians
A1. “The Eve of the War” (9:06)
A2. “Horsell Common and the Heat Ray” (11:36)
B1. “The Artilleryman and the Fighting Machine” (10:36)
B2. “Forever Autumn” (7:43)
B3. “Thunder Child” (6:10)
The Earth Under the Martians
C1. “The Red Weed (Part 1)” (5:55)
C2. “Parson Nathaniel” (1:55)
C3. “The Spirit of Man” (9:46)
C4. “The Red Weed (Part 2)” (6:51)
D1. “Brave New World” (12:13)
D2. “Dead London” (8:37)
D3. “Epilogue (Part 1)” (2:42)
D4. “Epilogue (Part 2) (NASA)” (2:02)

Composed By, Orchestrated By, Conductor, Producer, Keyboards – Jeff Wayne
Bass – Herbie Flowers
Drums – Barry Morgan
Featuring – Chris Thompson, David Essex (B1, C4, D1), Julie Covington (C3), Justin Hayward (A1, B2), Phil Lynott (C3, C4)
Guitar – Chris Spedding
Guitar, Performer [The Heat Ray], Featuring – Jo Partridge
Keyboards, Synthesizer [Synthesisers] – Ken ‘Prof’ Freeman
Narrator [Journalist], Featuring – Richard Burton
Percussion – Barry Da Souza, Ray Cooper, Roy Jones
Zither, Tar (Drum) [Lute], Santoor [Santur] – George Fenton

Recorded by – Geoff Young
Assisted by – Laurence Diana
Lyrics By, Written-By – Gary Osborne
Mastered By – Bill Foster
Dramatized by – Doreen Wayne
Painting – Geoff Taylor, Michael Trim, Peter Goodfellow
Dramatic And Narrative Sections Directed by – Charles Dubin
Executive Producer, Directed By Dramatic And Narrative Sections Directed by – Jerry Wayne

Artist/Album Pages:

Sally Oldfield - Water Bearer (1978)
Water Bearer is the debut solo album by Sally Oldfield, released in 1978 on Bronze. Tracklist:...
The Muffins ‎– Manna/Mirage (1978)
Manna/Mirage is an album by American avant-garde/jazz-rockers The Muffins, released in 1978 on Rando...
Alain Markusfeld - Platock (1978)
Platock is the fourth album by French classical/rock musician/composer Alain Markusfeld, released in...
Peter Hammill ‎– The Future Now (1978)
The Future Now is the seventh solo album by musician/vocalist Peter Hammill, released in 1978 on Cha...
John Miles ‎– Zaragon (1978)
Zaragon is the third album by English musician/vocalist John Miles, produced by Rupert Holmes and re...
Babylon – Babylon (1978)
Babylon is the first and only album by the namesake Floridian symphonic-rock band, released in 1978 ...
Little River Band ‎– Sleeper Catcher (1978)
Sleeper Catcher is the fourth album by Australian soft rockers the Little River Band, released in 19...
Chute Libre ‎– Ali Baba (1978)
Ali Baba is the second of two albums by French jazz-rock ensemble Chute Libre, released in 1978 on E...
Michael Mantler ‎– Movies (1978)
Movies is the fifth album by Austrian composer/trumpeter Michael Mantler, released in 1978 on WATT. ...
Deaf School ‎– English Boys, Working Girls (1978)
English Boys, Working Girls is the third album by English New Wave/art-rock band Deaf School, releas...
Billy Joel - 52nd Street (1978)
52nd Street is the sixth album by Billy Joel, released in 1978 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. "...
Pleasure ‎– Get to the Feeling (1978)
Get to the Feeling is the fourth album by Portland, Ore., funk band Pleasure, released in 1978 on Fa...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *