Frob – Frob (1976)

Frob is the sole album by German instrumental four-piece Frob, released in 1976. Coursing throughout this release are the searing scales of guitarist Philippe Caillat and the machine-gun fills of drummer Peter Meuffels.

“Flash” kicks off with a four-note bass gallop in D that is swiftly joined by snare-hyper drums, icy organ keys and the sizzling leads of Caillat, whose ascending hammer-on’s serve as the title-sake earworm.

The snare-bash that signals “Hektik” is tackled by a tritone-scaling fretboard motif that corrupts the key of F#. Schmits’ lean, primitive organ layers percolate over the rhythmically bombarded bridge. Richter tentatively climbs the scale, only to slide back down against the 12/4 pattern that carries out the soloists from 1:30 onward.

Further highlights include the scaly, organ-shimmering “Locomotive” and the bass-darting hi-hat groove of “Spaces.” Musically, the album is comparable to Coses Nostres by Iceberg, Strange New Flesh by Colosseum II, and the two albums by Dutch quartet Scope.

A1. Wassertropfen
A2. Spaces
A3. Calypso
A4. Spheres
B1. Flash
B2. Locomotive
B3. Hektik
B4. La Sieste

Philippe Caillat – guitar
Peter Meuffels – drums
Peter Schmits – keyboards
K.-D. Richter – bass

Artist/Album Pages:

Tarika Blue ‎– The Blue Path (1976)
The Blue Path is the first of two albums by New York-based jazz-funk collective Tarika Blue, release...
Jean-Yves Lievaux ‎– Comme Avant - Dis-Moi Fanny - C'est Pour Toi Que J'écrirai (1976)
Comme Avant - Dis-Moi Fanny - C'est Pour Toi Que J'écrirai is an album by French singer/songwriter J...
Instant Funk ‎– Get Down with the Philly Jump (1976)
Get Down with the Philly Jump is the debut album by American funk combo Instant Funk, released in 19...
The Prime Element ‎– Alborada (1976)
Alborada is an album by Argentinean/American Latin-jazz/rock ensemble Prime Element, released in 197...
The Manhattan Transfer - Coming Out (1976)
Coming Out is the third album by American jazz/pop vocal group the Manhattan Transfer, released in 1...
Steve Reid Featuring the Legendary Master Brotherhood ‎– Nova (1976)
Nova is an album by American jazz drummer Steve Reid, released in 1976 on Mustevic Sound. Tra...
Bobby Stern & Head, Heart and Hands ‎– Libra (1976)
Libra is a 1976 collaboration album between American saxophonist Bobby Stern and German instrumental...
Camel ‎– Moonmadness (1976)
Moonmadness is the fourth album by English symphonic/space-rock band Camel, released in 1976 on Decc...
Universe City – Universe City (1976)
Universe City is the singular album by American jazz-funk operative Universe City, released in 1976 ...
Kansas ‎– Leftoverture (1976)
Leftoverture is the fourth album by American symphonic/hard-rock band Kansas, released in 1976 on Ki...
Steve Marcus – Sometime Other Than Now (1976)
Sometime Other Than Now is a 1976 album by American saxophonist Steve Marcus. Fronting an ensemble t...
Eberhard Weber ‎– Yellow Fields (1976)
Yellow Fields is an album by German jazz bassist Eberhard Weber, released in 1976 on ECM. Tra...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *