Electric Light Orchestra – The Electric Light Orchestra (1971)

The Electric Light Orchestra is the debut album by the namesake English symphonic-pop/art-rock combo, released in December 1971 on Harvest. Initially conceived by musicians Roy Wood and Jeff Lynne as an avant-garde side-project to their main engagements in The Move, the concept ultimately took on its own life in Wood’s absence. The album was recorded concurrently with the final Move longplayer Message from the Country.

A1. “10538 Overture” (5:30)
A2. “Look at Me Now” (3:17)
A3. “Nellie Takes Her Bow” (6:01)
A4. “Battle of Marston Moor (July 2nd 1644)” (6:04)
B1. “1st Movement” (3:00)
B2. “Mr. Radio” (5:04)
B3. “Manhattan Rumble (49th Street Massacre)” (4:23)
B4. “Queen of the Hours” (3:23)
B5. “Whisper in the Night” (4:48)

Roy Wood — vocals, cello, oboe, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, string bass, bassoon, clarinet, recorder, slide guitar, percussion, vocal, co-producer
Jeff Lynne — vocals, piano, electric guitar, percussion, bass, vocal, co-producer
Bev Bevan — drums, percussion

Bill Hunt — French horn, hunting horn
Steve Woolam — violin
Roger Wake — engineer
Peter Oliff — engineer
Roy “Oliver” Wood — voice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *