Bruce Woolley & the Camera Club ‎– English Garden (1979)

English Garden is the lone album by English New Wave/synthpop band Bruce Woolley and the Camera Club, released in 1979 on Epic. The album contains the frontman’s version of “Video Killed the Radio Star,” which he co-wrote with Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes during the formative stages of The Buggles. A young Thomas Dolby plays keyboards on this album.

A1. “English Garden” (3:03)
A2. “Video Killed the Radio Star” (2:54)
A3. “Dancing With the Sporting Boys” (3:27)
A4. “Johnny” (3:02)
A5. “No Surrender” (3:35)
A6. “Flying Man” (2:50)
B1. “You Got Class” (2:11)
B2. “W.W.9. / Clean-Clean” (3:50)
B3. “Get Away William” (3:14)
B4. “Goodbye to Yesterday / Goodbye to Yesterday (Reprise)” (5:59)
B5. “You’re the Circus (I’m the Clown)” (3:31)

Bruce Woolley — vocals
Matthew Seligman — bass
Rod Johnson — drums
Dave Birch — guitar
Thomas Dolby — keyboards

Mike Hurst — producer
Richard Goldblatt — engineer
Nick T. Froom — assistant engineer

Artist/Album Pages:

Sky ‎– Sky (1979)
Sky is the debut album by the namesake multinational classical/rock supergroup led by Australian gui...
Avalanche ‎– Perseverance Kills Our Game (1979)
Perseverance Kills Our Game is an album by Dutch folk/psych band Avalanche, released in 1979 on Star...
Flash and the Pan ‎– Flash and the Pan (1979)
Flash and the Pan is the debut album by the namesake Australian studio project headed by the songwri...
Trickster ‎– Back to Zero (1979)
Back to Zero is the second of two albums by English hard-rock/art-rock band Trickster, released in 1...
Camel - I Can See Your House From Here (1979)
I Can See Your House From Here is a 1979 album by English band Camel. The album was produced by ex-Q...
Eskaton ‎– 4 Visions (1979)
4 Visions is an album by French Zeuhl band Eskaton, recorded in 1979 and released two years later on...
Michael Jackson ‎– Off the Wall (1979)
Off the Wall is the fifth solo album by American vocalist/songwriter Michael Jackson, produced by Qu...
The Police ‎– Reggatta de Blanc (1979)
Reggatta de Blanc is the second album by English New Wave/reggae-rock trio The Police, released in 1...
October – October (1979)
October is one of two back-to-back albums by the namesake American symphonic-rock band, released in ...
Thomas Dolby ‎– The Golden Age of Wireless (1982)
The Golden Age of Wireless is the debut album by English modernist New Wave/art-pop keyboardist/comp...
Sister Sledge ‎– We Are Family (1979)
We Are Family is the third album by American soul/funk family act Sister Sledge, released in 1979 on...
Alain Markusfeld ‎– Contemporus (1979)
Contemporus is the fifth album by French classical/rock multi-instrumentalist Alain Markusfeld, rele...

1 thought on “Bruce Woolley & the Camera Club ‎– English Garden (1979)

  1. A truly remarkable album that, upon release, Rolling Stone Magazine compared to Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust. I still listen to this album from start to finish. Woolley’s version of “Video Killed the Radio Star” is a rocking work of art and not the twisted embarrassment that The Buggle’s version is. The only other song that I remember getting airplay when it was released is “Get Away William”, a true gem. “Clean Clean” and its Dolby intro “W.W.9.” punctuates the entire album’s lyrical artistry. “You’re the Circus (I’m the Clown) appropriately closes out the album and in my universe is a classic. Even now, forty-four years since it’s release, I keep wondering when this album will get the attention it deserves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *