Aretha Franklin – Young, Gifted and Black (1972)

Young, Gifted and Black is the 13th studio album by American soul singer Aretha Franklin, released in 1972 on Atlantic.

A1. “Oh Me Oh My (I’m a Fool for You Baby)” (3:39)
A2. “Day Dreaming” (3:58)
A3. “Rock Steady” (3:12)
A4. “Young, Gifted and Black” (3:32)
A5. “All the King’s Horses” (3:53)
A6. “A Brand New Me” (4:23)
B1. “April Fools” (3:27)
B2. “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” (3:32)
B3. “First Snow in Kokomo” (4:04)
B4. “The Long and Winding Road” (3:36)
B5. “Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time)” (3:40)
B6. “Border Song (Holy Moses)” (3:19)

Aretha Franklin – lead vocals (all), piano (A1-A4, A6, B2-B6), celesta (A5), Fender Rhodes (B1)
Donny Hathaway – Hammond organ (A1, A3, A5, A6, B2, B3), Fender Rhodes (A2)
Billy Preston – Hammond organ (A4, B4, B6)
Hugh McCracken – guitar (A1, A6)
Cornell Dupree – guitar (A2-A5, B1-B6)
Don Arnone – acoustic guitar (A2)
Eric Gale – bass guitar (A1, A6)
Chuck Rainey – bass guitar (A2-A5, B1, B3-B6)
Al Jackson Jr. – drums (A1, A6)
Bernard Purdie – drums (A2, A3, A5, B1, B2, B5)
Ray Lucas – drums (A4, B4, B6)
Dr. John – percussion (A3)
Robert Popwell – percussion (A3), bass guitar (B2)
Neil Rosengarden – vibraphone (A5), trumpet (B3)
Wayne Jackson – trumpet (A3, B2)
Andrew Love – tenor saxophone (A3, B2)
Hubert Laws – alto flute (A2), flute (B1, B5)
Arif Mardin – horn, string and woodwind arrangements (A1, A2, A4-B1, B3-B4)
Gene Orloff – concertmaster (A1, A2, A4-B1, B3-B4)
Tom Dowd – horn arrangements (A3, B2)
The Sweet Inspirations – backing vocals (A1, A4, A6, B6)
Pat Smith – backing vocals (A2, A3, A5, B1-B3, B5)
Carolyn Franklin – backing vocals (A2, A3, A5, B2-B4)
Erma Franklin – backing vocals (A2, A3, A5, B2-B4)
Margaret Branch – backing vocals (A2, A3, A5, B1-B5)
Ann S. Clark – backing vocals (A2, A3, A5, B1-B3, B5)
Ronald Bright – backing vocals (B6)
J.R. Bailey – backing vocals (B6)
Sammy Turner – backing vocals (B6)
Producers – Arif Mardin and Jerry Wexler (all tracks); Tom Dowd (Tracks A2-A5 & B1-B6).
Engineers – Gene Paul (Tracks A1, A4, A6 & B3-B6); Howard Albert, Ron Albert and Chuck Kirkpatrick (Tracks A2, A3, A5, B1 & B2)

Artist/Album Pages:

Chaka Khan ‎– Chaka Khan (1982)
Chaka Khan is the fourth solo album by the namesake American soul/funk vocalist, released in 1982 on...
Stories ‎– Stories (1972)
Stories is the debut album by the namesake American art-pop band, released in 1972 on Kama Sutra. ...
Contraction ‎– Contraction (1972)
Contraction is the first of two albums by the namesake Quebecois jazz-rock/art-rock collective, rele...
Captain Beyond - Captain Beyond (1972)
Captain Beyond is the debut album by the namesake English/American hard-rock/art-rock band, released...
Chick Corea & Return to Forever ‎– Light as a Feather (1972)
Light as a Feather is an album by American/Brazilian samba-jazz ensemble Return to Forever, recorded...
Four Tops ‎– Keeper of the Castle (1972)
Keeper of the Castle is an album by American soul act the Four Tops, released in 1972 on Dunhill. ...
Phoenix ‎– Cei Ce Ne-au Dat Nume (1972)
Cei Ce Ne-au Dat Nume is the debut album by Romanian hard-rock band Phoenix, released in 1972 on Ele...
Bill Evans / George Russell Orchestra ‎– Living Time (1972)
Living Time is a collaborative album between pianist Bill Evans and conductor George Russell, record...
Haikara ‎– Haikara (1972)
Haikara is the first of two albums by the namesake Finnish jazz-rock/psych band, released in 1972 on...
Chicago ‎– Chicago V (1972)
Chicago V is the fourth studio album by American jazz-rock band Chicago, released in 1972 on Columbi...
Keith Cross & Peter Ross ‎– Bored Civilians (1972)
Bored Civilians is the singular album by English singer/songwriter duo Keith Cross and Peter Ross, r...
Thirsty Moon ‎– Thirsty Moon (1972)
Thirsty Moon is the debut album by the namesake German jazz-rock/psych ensemble, released in 1972 on...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *