Ambrosia – Somewhere I’ve Never Travelled (1976)

Somewhere I’ve Never Travelled is the second album by American symphonic/art-rock band Ambrosia, produced by Alan Parsons and released in 1976 on 20th Century Records.

A gala of sound and spectacle, the album spins with the xylophone gusts that course through “The Brunt” and the spiraling ivory of “Danse With Me George.” Earlier on, “Cowboy Star” grows from muted to towering amidst swelling minor-key progressions, while the title-track beacons the whole affair with glimmering mist and fold-out, spectrum harmonies.

The sumptuous strum of “Runnin’ Away” offers a light break to the surrounding catharsis, which also includes the rising string-sweep of “I Wanna Know” and churchy organ-highs of “We Need You Too.”

A1. “And…” (0:47)
A2. “Somewhere I’ve Never Travelled” (4:09)
A3. “Cowboy Star” (6:20)
A4. “Runnin’ Away” (3:27)
A5. “Harvey” (1:27)
A6. “I Wanna Know” (5:58)
B1. “The Brunt” (5:26)
B2. “Danse With Me George (Chopin’s Plea)” (7:47)
B3. “Can’t Let a Woman” (4:18)
B4. “We Need You Too” (5:31)

Burleigh Drummond – drums, percussion, bassoon
David Pack – guitar, strings, vocals
Christopher North – keyboards, vocals
Joe Puerta – bass, Moog, vocals

Alan Parsons – production
Andrew Powell – orchestration (tracks: A3, B2, B4)
Alfred Ladzekpo, Kobla Ladzekpo, Cal Arts African Ensemble
Ian Underwood – saxophone
Daniel Kobialka – violin
Ruth Underwood – marimba

Artist/Album Pages:

Carlos Garnett - Cosmos Nucleus (1976)
Cosmos Nucleus is a Latin-jazz/funk album by Panamanian saxophonist Carlos Garnett, released in 1976...
Colosseum II ‎– Strange New Flesh (1976)
Strange New Flesh is the debut album by English jazz-rock/hard-rock combo Colosseum II, released in ...
Natural Life - Unnamed Land (1976)
Unnamed Land is one of three albums by American jazz-rock ensemble Natural Life, released in 1976 on...
Pulsar - The Strands of the Future (1976)
The Strands of the Future is the second album by French symphonic/space-rock quartet Pulsar, release...
Henry Gaffney - Waiting for a Wind (1976)
Waiting for a Wind is the first of two albums by American singer/songwriter Henry Gaffney, released ...
Atila - Intención (1976)
Intención is the second album by Spanish symphonic/hard-rock band Atila, released in 1976 on BASF. ...
Zbigniew Seifert ‎– Man of the Light (1976)
Man of the Light is the debut solo album by Polish jazz-rock violinist Zbigniew Seifert, released in...
Tangerine Dream ‎– Stratosfear (1976)
Stratosfear is the seventh chronological studio album by German electronic trio Tangerine Dream, rel...
Saluki ‎– Saluki (1976)
Saluki is an album by the namesake Norwegian jazz-rock ensemble, released in 1976 on Compendium. ...
Genesis ‎– Wind & Wuthering (1976)
Wind & Wuthering is the eighth studio album by English symphonic-rock band Genesis, released in ...
Gino Vannelli ‎– The Gist of the Gemini (1976)
The Gist of the Gemini is the fourth album by Canadian vocalist/musician Gino Vannelli, released in ...
Ambrosia ‎– Life Beyond L.A. (1978)
Life Beyond L.A. is the third album by American art-rockers Ambrosia, released in 1978 on Warner Bro...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *