Airplay ‎– Airplay (1980)

Airplay is the sole album by the namesake project of producers/composers Jay Graydon and David Foster, recorded with assorted LA studio musicians. Released in 1980 on RCA, the album consists of 10 collaborative originals, two of which had recently been cut by associated acts Earth, Wind & Fire (“After the Love Is Gone”) and the Manhattan Transfer (“Nothin’ You Can Do About It”).

A1. “Stranded” (4:28)
A2. “Cryin’ All Night” (4:47)
A3. “It Will Be Alright” (4:00)
A4. “Nothin’ You Can Do About It” (4:42)
A5. “Should We Carry On” (3:47)
B1. “Leave Me Alone” (4:35)
B2. “Sweet Body” (4:40)
B3. “Bix” (4:15)
B4. “She Waits for Me” (3:41)
B5. “After the Love Is Gone” (4:29)


  • Jay Graydon – vocals, guitar
  • David Foster – keyboards, background vocals
  • Tommy Funderburk – vocals

  • Jeff Porcaro – drums
  • David Hungate – bass
  • Steve Lukather – additional rhythm guitars
  • Steve Porcaro – synthesizer programming
  • Warren Wiebe
  • Mike Baird – drums
  • Ray Parker Jr. – additional rhythm guitars
  • Pete Robinson – synthesizer programming
  • Jerry Hey – trumpet & flugelhorn
  • Gary Grant – trumpet
  • Steve Madaio – trumpet
  • Bill Reichenbach Jr. – trombone
  • Charlie Loper – trombone
  • Lew McCreary – trombone
  • Bill Champlin – backing vocals
  • Tom Kelly – backing vocals
  • Max Gronenthal – backing vocals

Artist/Album Pages:

Craig Mirijanian ‎– A Perfect Fit (1980)
A Perfect Fit is the lone album by West Coast songwriter/vocalist Craig Mirijanian, released in 1980...
George Duke ‎– A Brazilian Love Affair (1980)
A Brazilian Love Affair is the fourteenth studio album by American jazz-funk keyboardist George Duke...
Don Henley ‎– Building the Perfect Beast (1984)
Building the Perfect Beast is the second solo album by singer/drummer/songwriter Don Henley, co-writ...
Simple Minds ‎– Empires and Dance (1980)
Empires and Dance is the third album by Scottish New Wave band Simple Minds, released in 1980 on the...
Joni Mitchell - Wild Things Run Fast (1982)
Wild Things Run Fast is the eleventh studio album by Canadian singer/songwriter Joni Mitchell, relea...
Mo.Do. ‎– La Scimmia Sulla Schiena del Re (1980)
La Scimmia Sulla Schiena del Re is an album by Italian avant-garde/art-rock combo Mo.Do., released i...
Ginga Rale Band ‎– Wir Bedauern... (1980)
Wir Bedauern... is an album by Austrian avant-garde/space-rockers the Ginga Rale Band, released in 1...
Steve Kipner ‎– Knock the Walls Down (1979)
Knock the Walls Down is a pop/vocal album by Aussie music vet and industry songwriter Steve Kipner. ...
Toto are an American modern-rock band from Los Angeles, formed in 1977 by prolific industry studio...
Estructura ‎– Estructura (1980)
Estructura is an album by the namesake Venezuelan symphonic-rock band, released in 1980 on Grabacion...
Jimmy Webb ‎– El Mirage (1977)
El Mirage is the sixth album by American composer/arranger Jimmy Webb, released in 1977 on Atlantic....
The 3 Pieces
The 3 Pieces were an American jazz-funk/soul trio that released the album Vibes of Truth on Fantas...