Adam and the Ants ‎– Dirk Wears White Sox (1979)

Dirk Wears White Sox is the debut album by English New Wave band Adam and the Ants, released in 1979 on Robin Scott’s Do It label. This would be the only album to feature the original Ants lineup, which was scooped into the Monochrome Set and Bow Wow Wow soon after this release. Four years later, the album was re-released by Epic to capitalize on Adam Ant’s subsequent fame.

Tracklist (Do It):
A1. “Cartrouble (Parts 1 & 2)” (6:32)
A2. “Digital Tenderness” (2:57)
A3. “Nine Plan Failed” (5:00)
A4. “Day I Met God” (2:50)
A5. “Tabletalk” (5:20)
B1. “Cleopatra” (3:10)
B2. “Catholic Day” (3:00)
B3. “Never Trust a Man (With Egg on His Face)” (3:08)
B4. “Animals and Men” (3:10)
B5. “Family of Noise” (2:30)
B6. “The Idea” (3:17)

Tracklist (Epic):
A1. “Car Trouble” (3:24)
A2. “Kick” (2:08)
A3. “Digital Tenderness” (2:57)
A4. “Nine Plan Failed” (5:06)
A5. “Family of Noise” (2:33)
A6. “Tabletalk” (5:26)
B1. “Zerox” (3:45)
B2. “Cleopatra” (3:12)
B3. “Never Trust a Man (With Egg on His Face)” (3:10)
B4. “Animals and Men” (3:14)
B5. “The Idea” (3:21)
B6. “Whip in My Valise” (3:55)

Adam Ant — vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica, piano, producer, lyrics, music
Andrew Warren — bass
Matthew Ashman — guitar, piano
David Barbe — percussion

Benny King — engineer
Paul Ludgate — assistant engineer
Clare Johnson — photography
Juanito Antonio Wadhwani — photography
Philip Grey — portrait photography
Derek Bradbury — graphic design, layout

Artist/Album Pages:

Zartong ‎– Zartong (1979)
Zartong is the lone album by Paris-based Armenian folk/psych band Zartong, released in 1979 on Dom. ...
Honeyelk ‎– Stoyz Vi Dozévéloy (1979)
Stoyz Vi Dozévéloy is an album by French Zeuhl ensemble Honeyelk, released in 1979 on Oxygène. ...
Flamen Dialis ‎– Symptome-Dei (1979)
Symptome-Dei is an album by French electronic/avant-garde ensemble Flamen Dialis, released in 1979 o...
Emmanuel Booz ‎– Dans Quel État J'erre (1979)
Dans Quel État J'erre is the fourth album by French symphonic vocalist Emmanuel Booz, released in 19...
The Stranglers ‎– The Raven (1979)
The Raven is the fourth album by English art-rock/New Wave band The Stranglers, released in 1979 on ...
The Planets ‎– Goon Hilly Down (1979)
Goon Hilly Down is the first of two albums by Liverpudlian New Wave combo The Planets, released in 1...
David Bendeth ‎– Adrenalin (1979)
Adrenalin is an album by English/Canadian jazz-funk guitarist David Bendeth, released in 1979 on Int...
Blondie - Eat to the Beat (1979)
Eat to the Beat is the debut album by American New Wave band Blondie, released in September 1979 on ...
Pink Floyd - The Wall (1979)
The Wall is the eleventh studio album by Pink Floyd, released on November 30, 1979, on Harvest (UK) ...
Joe Jackson ‎– Look Sharp! (1979)
Look Sharp! is the debut album by English musician/vocalist Joe Jackson, released in 1979 on A&M...
Japan ‎– Quiet Life (1979)
Quiet Life is the third album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in December 1979 on ...
Supertramp ‎– Breakfast in America (1979)
Breakfast in America is the sixth album by English art-rock/pop band Supertramp, released in 1979 on...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *